Galty Castle is located on the southern slopes of the Galty Mountains. The area was once the site of Galty Castle and was built in 1740 which, with later additions, became the home of the Kingston family. The last owners were the Buckleys of Galty Castle Estate. The Castle was demolished around 1940 and the stone was then used to build the local church in Glanworth. All that remains as evidence of the estate are some red sandstone stables, an outline of the tennis courts and stone alcove referred to locally as ‘Kingston’s Chair’. This site has river, mountain and forest walks to explore, enjoy.
Things to do
Walk: The Attychraan Loop (5km, 2 hours, moderate) is named after the nearby river. It is a tributary of the River Funshion which in turn feeds into the Munster Blackwater. Along the walk there are incredible views of open mountain, upland farmlands and mixed forests – given the right weather conditions.
Scenic drive: There are expansive and magnificent views of the Galtys from the tarred link road up through the forest to the car park.
Explore nature: The Attychraan and Funshion rivers both feature on this site. Fallow deer pass through in the early morning or at dusk.
Picnic: There are a number of picnic tables dotted around the car park.
Don’t miss our hidden gem
Galty Castle was once part of the Shanbally Estate and although there is very little physical evidence of this on the ground it still retains the ‘old world’ feeling