The network of forest roads provides a very pleasant walk (Moore Hall Walk), the focal point of which is the ruins of Moore Hall House.
Moore Hall House was built by George Moore in 1792 and completed in 1796. George amassed a considerable fortune in Alicante, Spain, as a wine merchant and builder. He also owned a fleet of ships. He died in 1799 and is buried near Straide Co Mayo. Moore Hall was burned in 1922.

Moore Hall is situated on the shores of Lough Carra, a few miles from the village of Carnacon.

Get Directions

Things to do

Don’t miss our hidden gem

Visitors Facilities on site


Picnic site

Walking trails

Large car park, picnic facilities and toilets.

trail map

Nearby pit stops


Mayo Tourism

Discover Ireland