Bishop`s Wood was at one stage designated as church property. The Earl of Montalt owned the estate up until 1905. The gamekeepers lodge which is about 1 km from the car park has been taken over by the Boy Scouts Association and has been turned into a National Boy Scout Centre.
There is no specific trail here but the area has an extensive forest road network giving the visitor plenty of scope for walking.
There are a number of small old Oak stands scattered throughout the conifers in parts of this forest property. The area was originally Old Woodland and as the conifer stands are being felled the Oak stands are being developed and extended and young Oak planted where suitable. Some of these Oak stands are seed stands which means acorns are collected and when they grow into young saplings are planted out in suitable sites in various parts of the country to increase the area of our native species.
Things to do
Don’t miss our hidden gem
On approach to the Bishops wood, take some time to look at the attractive streetscape of Dundrum village, particularly along the Cashel road, with its wide streets and beautifully preserved buildings.
Visitors Facilities on site
Nearby pit stops