This nice area around Lough Gill inspired the poet W.B. Yeats to write some of his best works. Slishwood is referred to as “Sleuthwood by the lake” in the stolen child. This site was once an extensive oak wood but much of the timber was felled during the Second World War (1939-45). The remains of this oak woodland can still be seen along the lakeshore. As the area is rich in flora and fauna, it is a bio-diversity site and forms part of the Lough Gill Natural Heritage Area (NHA).

Southern shore of Lough Gill. Take N4 FROM Sligo At 4km South of Sligo take the R287 to Ballintogher. The site is approximately 5 km along this road and is signposted.

Get Directions

Things to do

Don’t miss our hidden gem

Visitors Facilities on site

Picnic site

Walking trails

trail map

Nearby pit stops


Sligo Tourism

Discover Ireland