Mullaghreelan Wood is a picturesque old woodland estate that offers the visitor a very unique forest experience. The wood adjoins Kilkea castle, which was built in 1180 AD by Hugh de Lacey for Walter de Riddlesford after the invasion of Ireland by Strongbow. Kilkea was also the birthplace of St. Laurence O” Toole who was Archbishop of Dublin in the 12th century. His heart is preserved in Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin.
The wood encircles a hill top rath which overlooks Kilkea castle and offers excellent views westward over the rolling landscape of east Laois. The rath probably precedes the castle and was the site of the discovery of a Middle.
Mullaghreelan wood is an old woodland site and a great display of bluebells when they come out.
Things to do
Walk: The wood has an extensive network of forest roads and trails which can cater for both the casual stroller or the nature walker, two of these trails are waymarked. The Rath Walk (2kms, 45mins, moderate) is a nice walk through the forest up through the beech lined avenue and on up to the rath for the great view; The O’Tuathaill Walk (2kms, 45mins, moderate) route takes you via the wishing well in the North East of the forest, where it is said that ladies of old would have thrown coins into the well and made a wish to find a husband.
Visitors Facilities on site
Car Parking – 20 cars.
Car park opens at 9am (April to September) and 9am (October to March)
Car park closes at 9pm (April to September) and 9pm (October to March)