The wood was formerly part of the Bryan Bellew Estate. Thomas Moore wrote the Last Rose of Summer while staying at Jenkinstown house. There is a walled lawn area next to the house to commemorate this and it is a popular site for wedding photos.
Of particular note at Jenkinstown is a stand of beech trees with a magnificent carpet of bluebells in late Spring, also the Chinese necklace poplar tree which has survived from the original park planting of the 1870’s.
There is also a deer enclosure next to the car park which is very popular with children of all ages.
Car park opening / closing hours
09.30 – 17.00 (all year)
Things to do
Walk: The wood has 2 looped walks for both a short stroll or a longer walk, both these trails are waymarked; The Walled Garden Loop (2.5kms, 1 hr, easy) is a nice short walk through the forest taking in St. Colman’s well and starting and finishing through “doors-in-the-walls”; The Jenkinstown Loop (4kms, 1 ½ hr, easy) loops around the perimeter of Jekinstown park wood and takes in a few viewing points on the west side of the wood to take in the countryside.
Wildlife: There is a herd of deer in the walled garden area off the main car park.
DON’T MISS OUR HIDDEN GEM
The threshing mill building in the green off the main car park is a fascinating structure where the skill of the tradespeople of that time is evident for all to see.