The wooded demesne of Castlemorris (Castle Morres) and previously known as “Diore Lia” (grey wood) was formerly home to the Morres and De Montmorency families – the family vault can still be seen in the churchyard of the nearby Aghaviller church. The churchyard also contains the remains of an ancient round tower built to protect the occupants and valuables of monastic settlements from Viking raids.
The first Viscount Mountmorris commissioned Castle Morres as one of the largest stately homes in the country and it was built in approximately 1751. Unfortunately, much of the house is now demolished after it was sold in 1924 to the Land Commission, and in the early 1930’s it was deroofed and a demolition sale took place.
Three looped walks, of varying lengths, have been marked at Castlemorris. Enjoy!, just start by walking through the grand gates.
Things to do
Walk: The wood has 3 looped walks for both a short stroll or a longer walk, all these trails are waymarked; The Fern Loop (3kms, 1hr, easy) is a nice short walk through the forest up to the ruins of the outbuildings that used to be in the courtyard of Castlemorris house; The Holly Loop (6kms, 1 ½ hr, moderate) and the Pheasant Loop (7km, 2 ½ hrs, moderate) these two walks take you further into and around the forest, there is also an option to visit the church and round tower a short distance (200m) from these trails.
DON’T MISS OUR HIDDEN GEM
Castlmorris was an old demesne and has that old world feel about it.
Visitors Facilities on site
NEARBY PIT STOPS