The lands were formally part of the Ashford Estate which were owned by the Guinness family until 1939. This is a very interesting site which combines scenic walks, historic buildings with forest and water. A section of the trail is along the shores of Lough Corrib, with its many beautiful islands. Close to the car park there is a swimming area, which is safe for bathing. This was a favourite amenity site which was first made famous by the Guinness family, who lived in nearby Ashford Castle up to 1939. Lord Ardulan erected a chalet here, overlooking the lake for his wife Olive, who spent many hours here reading and writing. Olive returned the compliment when he died, by erecting an obelisk to his memory, which still stands on the site. The chalet overlooks Ardulan island from where Lord Ardulan took his name

3.5 km south of Cong village

Get Directions

Things to do

Don’t miss our hidden gem

Visitors Facilities on site


Picnic site

Walking trails

trail map

Nearby pit stops