The name Portumna derives from the Irish Port Omna, meaning the landing place of the oak tree. Portumna Forest Park was acquired in 1948 and covers almost 450 hectares. It was formerly owned by the Clanrickarde family. There is an old abbey, now under the care of the Office of Public Works (OPW), within the Park which dates back to the 15th century. The castle nearby, on which considerable restoration work has been carried out by the OPW, dates back to the 17th century and was the seat of the Earl of Clanrickarde.

Scattered throughout the coniferous woodland there are occasional patches of semi-natural woodland which tend to be dominated by ash and beech with silver birch frequent along the lake shore. A notable feature of the park is the presence of occasional individuals of Yew and Juniper in open woodland along the lake shore. Perhaps the most noteworthy animal species of the park is red squirrel which is frequently encountered in woodland areas. There is a large population of Fallow deer in the Park and other animal species include fox and badger.
A recent visitor is the white tailed sea eagle that has nested and raised chicks on an Island close to the forest park

From Portumna take the R352 heading towards Mountshannon. The park entrance is 1km from the town on the left hand side.

Get Directions

Things to do

Don’t miss our hidden gem.

Visitors Facilities on site


Forest Park


Leisure cycling

Mountain Biking

Picnic site


Walking trails

Watchable Wildlife

Car parking – car park closes at 6pm in Winter and 9pm in Summer.

trail map

Nearby pit stops