Overview

This site, adjacent to Ballina, is in a very historic area of Co. Mayo. Belleek or Beal-Leice in Irish, the mouth of the Flagstones, indicates an early crossing of the river Moy and there was probably a settlement at this location which predates the town of Ballina. The lands in this area formerly belonged to the Knox Gore family who acquired almost 750 hectares in 1701.
The Gore family were benevolent landlords who cared for their tenants in hard times and instituted relief works during the famine.

Walking distance north of Ballina town.


Get Directions

Things to do

DON’T MISS OUR HIDDEN GEM

Visitors Facilities on site

Access for all

Archaeological

Car-park

Picnic site

Walking trails

trail map